The Leadership of PDCA

PDCA is managed by a Board of Directors, drawn from the membership, who volunteer to serve the organization without compensation. The Board of Directors numbers between fifteen (15) and twenty-one (21) and meets at least quarterly. The Board of Directors adopts PDCA policies, guides programs, appoints Committees, leads PDCA activities, sets member dues, approves the annual budget, and secures and monitors the organization's finances.

President Joel Fischman

Joel Anthony Fischman retired from the U.S. Department of State in 2012 after a 49-year career (both FS and GS) with the State Department and the U.S. Information Agency. As his final assignment, he headed, for several years, the Office of Policy and Outreach, a senior staff position in the Department’s Bureau of International Information Programs. During his career he received three Superior and three Meritorious Honor Awards.

In retirement, Joel was President of the Public Diplomacy Association of America (PDAA) from 2019-2022 and chaired the Joint Oversight Group that managed the merger of PDAA and the Public Diplomacy Council. 

He also served as President of Anne Frank House DC (2020-22), a nonprofit dedicated to providing housing for residents who would otherwise be on the streets. He is a member of the nonprofit Friendship Place (FP) Board and was Chair of its Congregations Committee (2016-2021). Joel was also a board member of Adas Israel Congregation for 14 years and Chair of the congregation’s Social Action Council (2006-2016).

PDCA Officers

Vice PresidentHon. Larry Wohlers
TreasurerQuentin Lide
SecretaryTania Chomiak-Salvi
Executive DirectorRobert Heath 
Editor-In-ChiefMichael Korff 
Hans "Tom" Tuch Graduate Fellow

Gabrielle Stall 

Committee Chairs (for terms ending May 31, 2024)

Program:Joan Mower, Nick Cull
Membership and Outreach:Hon. Brian Carlson
Awards:Hon. Earl Anthony Wayne, Michael Korff
Budget and Finance:Anne Barbaro
Training, Mentoring & Professional Development:Peter Kovach, Vivian Walker
Academic Study:Vivian Walker, Michael Schneider
Advocacy:Mike McCarry, Mark Rebstock
Communication:Joe Johnson, Arthur Berger
Development:Shaz Akram
Nominating and Leadership Development:Sherry Mueller
Young Professionals:

Adam Footlik

Members of the Board of Directors

Shaz Akram

Anne Barbaro

Arthur Berger

Brian Carlson

Tania Chomiak-Salvi

Nick Cull

Joel Fischman

Adam Footlik

Robert Heath*

Joe Johnson

Michael Korff*

Peter Kovach

Pat Kushlis

Quentin Lide

Michael McCarry

Joan Mower

Sherry Mueller

Mark Rebstock

Larry Schwartz

Gabrielle Stall*

Vivian Walker

Bill Wanlund

Earl Anthony Wayne

Larry Wohlers